Boozehound is worth the $23

I’ve paged through a lot of crappy cocktail books over the years. Jason Wilson’s Boozehound: On the Trail of the Rare, the Obscure, and the Overrated in Spirits is not one of them. Wilson writes about spirits for the Washington Post; I’ve enjoyed his work online, but the book is even better.

Boozehound, by Jason Wilson

Wilson tastes Cognac with F. Paul Pacult, outs a speakeasy and drinks his way abundantly and happily through bars and distilleries in the U.S., The Netherlands, Italy, France, Germany, Haiti and who knows where else, as I’m only on page 123. It’s more than a “wish you were here” postcard, though. Wilson offers history, insight, opinion, humor and recipes in his quest to get us to “taste something—anything—that makes you stop for a moment and pay attention and experience.” Maybe oude genever, or Cynar, or Calvados. Maybe in a bar, but home’s fine, too. Just taste something new or strange. Or at least buy the book and read about someone who does.

Wilson’s book is replete with recipes. This is the first I plan to try, just to see if it really is better than a Negroni.

Boulevardier: Fill a mixing glass halfway with ice. Add 1-1/2 ounces bourbon (Wilson recommends Buffalo Trace, Four Roses or Russell’s Reserve), 1 ounce sweet vermouth and 1 ounce Campari. Stir vigorously for 30 seconds, then strain into a chilled cocktail glass. Garnish with a lemon peel twist.

~ by fooddrinklife on December 1, 2010.

4 Responses to “Boozehound is worth the $23”

  1. Good stuff Anne! Love this blog post.

  2. I totally agree! This was a fun and informative read. Left me very very thirsty and aching to build that bar that I’ve always wanted in my own home (alas, it won’t fit into my budget). Any book that mentions Averna, Cynar, Chinotto, and The Black Death has to be good. 🙂

    Lovely blog by the way!

    Cheers!
    G-LO

    • Thanks! Have you had the Chinato? I finally found it at Eatily in NYC, and it’s every bit as good as Wilson’s book promised. And thanks for blogging about all your Christmas goodies. I’d have thought The Glenlivet would have been better.

      • I haven’t found Chinato yet. It sounds really really good. I’m still obsessing over whisky and beer, so unless I happen to stumble upon it, or see it in a bar, I probably won’t be having it any time soon.

        I am however very interested in the true martini. I really want to experiment with Wilson’s formula of Old Tom Gin and really good vermouth. Sounds much more interesting than the stuff most people drink when they say they’re having a martini (the standard martini and the vodka version are undrinkable). And the rum agricole is also quite intriguing!

        As far as The Glenlivet goes, it’s a very good whisky, but I tend to prefer the bigger whiskies (it wasn’t on my wish list). I’m more of an Islay kind of guy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
